Essential Golf: A passion for the Game

All You Need to Know About the Zurich Classic of New Orleans, April 22nd-25th 2021

Jon Rahm, Ryan Palmer

Zurich Classic of New Orleans
April 22-25, 2021

Location & Course Information
New Orleans, La.
TPC Louisiana

Pete Dye designed TPC Louisiana with assistance from player consultants Steve Elkington and New Orleans native Kelly Gibson. The course, which opened in 2004, stretches along the Mississippi River delta, incorporating stands of cypress and oak trees.
Yardage: 7,425; par 72.

Notable Course Features
The signature hole is the 18th, a risk-oriented par 5. It is reachable in two shots, but water all the way down the right side adds an element of danger and 12 strategically placed bunkers come into play on the tee shot, layup area and approach.

2019 Champion
(No event in 2020)
Jon Rahm, Spain/Ryan Palmer, U.S.

Quick Facts
Field: 80 two-player teams
Format: Four-Ball (first and third round); Foursomes (second and fourth round)
Purse: $7.4 million
Winner’s Share:
$1,065,600 for each player
FedExCup Points: 400 for each player on the winning team

Charity Benefit
The Fore! Kids Foundation, founded in 1958, has raised more than $40 million with golf events including the Zurich Classic of New Orleans. Proceeds from the tournament are distributed to more than 100 charitable organizations and schools.

Media Coverage
Golf Channel/NBC

Social Media


Jon Rahm and Ryan Palmer took control with birdies on the 13th and 14th holes in the alternate-shot final round, followed by a 25-foot par-saving putt on 15 by Rahm to set up a worry-free final three holes, a 69, and a three-stroke victory over Sergio Garcia and Tommy Fleetwood.

Rahm/Palmer trailed by four strokes after a first-round 64 in best ball, but their second-round 65 was the best in the field in the alternate-shot format as they moved in front.

Check this out

The 65 in the second round by Jon Rahm and Ryan Palmer was the lowest score in the alternate-shot format in the three years the Zurich Classic of New Orleans has been a team event.

The 60 by Brian Gay/Rory Sabbatini in the first round matched the lowest score in the best-ball format, accomplished by four teams in the first two years of the event.

Rahm/Palmer’s 134 for the two alternate-shot rounds led the field.