AIG Women’s Open Championship Future Venues

AIG Women's Open Championship future dates revealed

The AIG Women’s Open Championship future venues are:

  • Carnoustie – 2021
  • Muirfield – 2022
  • Walton Heath – 2023
  • St Andrews – 2024
  • Royal Porthcawl – 2025

Martin Slumbers pleased with decision

The Chief Executive of the R&A, Martin Slumbers affirmed this new development ” In collaboration with our partners at AIG, we have a drive that intends to grow and elevate the AIG Women’s Open Championship, which will be of benefit to the world-leading golfers, and on that note, we are thrilled to confirm our intention to hold the next five championships at the mentioned renowned courses.”

Slumbers explains that R&A rejoiced at the AIG Open Championship future venues. He also revealed that they were flexible during the schedule making, and helped them solidify their 2025 plans for the women’s championship.

“We appreciate their support, especially in difficult times like this, where golf [is] affected by the ongoing pandemic. With high hopes, we are working tirelessly with these venues to make sure we deliver an amazing experience, which everyone involved during the AIG Women’s Open [Championship] will enjoy.”

Women’s golf to receive better visibility with the reveal

Peter Zaffino, is the president and the Global Chief Operating Officer, AIG, commented, ” We are pleased to partner alongside the R&A, as this will help increase the engagement and visibility in women’s golf by setting things into play that will enhance the global stature of the Women’s Open. We are proud to welcome the participation and involvement of these superb courses, hosting these renowned professional golfers as they compete at the highest level.”

Among these five venues Walton Heath, Muirfield, and Royal Porthcawl will be hosting the AIG Women major championship for the first time.

The venues boast with colorful golf history     

Muirfield is a venue that has a prestigious history of playing host to major championships, as it previously hosted the Open on 16 different occasions. Muirfield, in 1952 and 1984, hosted the Curtis Cup alongside the Vagliano Trophy, in 1963 and 1975.

Walton Heath, on the other hand, has hosted the Ryder Cup, British Masters, and the Senior Open presented by Rolex.

Royal Porthcawl is yet another prestigious venue that housed the Amateur Championship on seven good occasions and existed as the venue used during the 1995 Walker Cup. Great Britain, together with Ireland, trashed the United States team featured Tiger Woods. This venue also housed the Curtis Cup; the Senior Open presented by Rolex and the British Masters.

This will be the third time St Andrews will host the championship after the games where Lorena Ochoa and Stacy Lewis both won the title in 2007 and 2013. The AIG existed at Carnoustie since 2011, which featured Yani Tseng, who had no problem defending her title.

The Women’s Open will kick off from 16-22 August 2021 at Carnoustie.

Also Read: Rory McIlroy Continues Struggle in Performance

You May Also Like

New Program

New Program To Benefit Young Golfers

Young Scottish golfers will benefit from a new program, developed by Scottish Golf, which aims ...

Olympic Games Golf Format to Remain the Same in 2020 image courtesy Petr Toman :

Olympic Games Golf Format to Remain the Same in 2020

The Olympic Games golf format will remain the same in 2020 after it was ...

J.J. Spaun’s Shock Win at Texas Open Was the Last Chance to Make it to Augusta

2022 Texas OpenEvent: Texas Open | Dates: March 31 – April 3Location: TPC San ...

McIlroy and Johnson to compete in relief event

McIlroy & Johnson Team Up for COVID-19 Relief

First big game since lockdown The closest thing we will get to a PGA ...

10 Golf Course That Will Challenge Your Limits

10 Golf Courses That Will Challenge Your Limits

10 Golf Courses That Will Challenge Your Limits Golf is known as one of ...

Paul Casey Rejoins European Tour image courtesy Mitch Gunn :

Paul Casey Rejoins European Tour

Paul Casey rejoins European Tour next year in a bid to secure a spot ...