Solheim Cup 2019 Teams Revealed

The 24 players who will contest the 2019 Solheim Cup at Gleneagles have been finalised after United States captain Juli Inkster revealed her two wildcard picks.

With five rookies having formed half of the 10 automatic qualifiers for Inkster’s American team which will travel to Scotland to defend the Solheim Cup, the US captain opted for experience in selecting Stacy Lewis and Morgan Pressel with the pair having nine appearances between them.

The European team had already been declared weeks earlier by captain Catriona Matthew, who had four wildcard picks and opted to split those with rookies Celine Boutier and Bronte Law complimented by the experience of Suzann Petterson and Jodi Ewart Shadoff.

We take a look at the complete European and United States teams who will tee it up at Gleneagles between September 13-15.

European Team

The automatic eight qualifiers were decided by the three players at the top of the LET Solheim Cup points standings and the top five best ranked players in the world, and the process resulted in a very experienced line up.

Spanish duo Carlota Ciganda and Azahara Munoz made the cut for what will be a fourth appearance, while England’s Charley Hull, Germany’s Caroline Masson and Caroline Hedwall will also be bringing experience from three previous Solheim Cups.

Hedwall’s fellow Swede Anna Nordqvist was the most experienced of the qualifiers having played in five previous clashes. England’s Georgia Hall made her debut in the 16.5-11.5 defeat to the United States two years ago. Anne van Dam from the Netherlands was the only rookie to qualify automatically into Matthew’s team.

The four wildcard picks went to eight-time Solheim Cup player Petterson and two-time representative Ewart Shadoff from England, as well as first timers Boutier and Law from France and England respectively.

With Petterson selected as part of the 12-strong line-up, the Norwegian gave up her assistant captaincy role and was replaced by Melissa Reid.

“Bronte and Celine’s excellent recent form speaks for itself in terms of why I selected them, and I think they are both going to have fantastic Solheim Cup debuts,” Matthew said. “I chose Jodi and Suzann for their vast experience, their recent good form and because I know exactly what they bring to the European team room.

“With our only other rookie being Anne Van Dam, who has also had an excellent year, I feel the experience of our team will be a great advantage to us along with the home crowd support.”

United States Team

Inkster left the selection of her team up to form with just two wildcard picks to add to 10 automatic qualifiers which were made up from the leading eight players in the points standings as well as the highest two players in the world rankings not to have already qualified.

It left an equal split of five rookies and five Solheim Cup veterans, to which Inkster decided to add Lewis and Pressel to when selecting her wildcards with the pair having played in four and five previous events respectively.

They will be the most experience Solheim Cuppers in the team as they join Lexi Thompson and Lizette, both who have played three previous times, and Danielle King, Jessica Korda and Angel Yin, who all have one previous appearance to their name. King and Yin’s both came in the 2017 US victory.

The five rookie qualifiers will be Nelly Korda, Megan Khang, Marina Alex and Brittany Altomare from the points standings, and Annie Park from the world rankings.

“I just felt like I needed some veteran leadership and a lot of my team wanted them on the team and so those two picks just kind of helped me out,” Inkster said after revealing her wildcards.

See also: Rory McIlroy Crowned 2019 PGA Tour Champion
Tournament Preview: Boeing Classic
McIlroy Questions Tour Championship, FedExCup Format

You May Also Like

Phil Mickelson Ends 26-Year Run in Top 50

It lasted for 26 years—more than most couples manage in marriage—but a tied 28th finish ...

Full 2017 Presidents Cup Teams Announced image courtesy Tony Bowler :

Full 2017 Presidents Cup Teams Announced

With the start of the 2017 Presidents Cup less than a month away, the ...

PGA TOUR Star Robert Garrigus Banned After Positive Test

PGA TOUR star Robert Garrigus has become the latest golfer to fall foul of ...

Rory McIlroy

Rory McIlroy to Join U.S. Open After Injury

Rory McIlroy will participate in the U.S. Open after a recurring rib injury restricted ...

Mickelson and McIlroy hope for successful 2018 season image courtesy Shutterstock

Mickelson and McIlroy Eye Successful Golf Season

Two of the world’s most familiar names, Mickelson and McIlroy, hope to regain their ...

Las Colinas Golf & Country Club

Potential Third-time Victory for Las Colinas Golf and Country Club

Las Colinas has received a nomination for Spain’s Best Golf Course.  Las Colinas Golf ...