Essential Golf: A passion for the Game

All You Need to Know About the Players Championship – March 11th-14th 2021

All you need to know about the Players Championship in 2021.

In 2019 Rory McIlroy (above) became only the third player to win THE PLAYERS Championship, the FedExCup, a major and a World Golf Championships event, joining Tiger Woods and Henrik Stenson. THE PLAYERS was canceled in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Check this out

THE PLAYERS Championship was canceled in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic after one round was played.

In 2019 Rory McIlroy became only the third player to win THE PLAYERS, the FedExCup, a major and a World Golf Championships event, joining Tiger Woods and Henrik Stenson.

McIlroy was the first player from Northern Ireland to win THE PLAYERS. He was the 15th international champion and the eighth in 12 years.

Dustin Johnson was the first player to shoot four rounds in the 60s since Steve Elkington in 1997.

Jim Furyk and Jon Rahm both had rounds of 64 in 2019, one off the tournament record of 63 shared by eight players.

Hideki Matsuyama shot a 63 in the first round of the 2020 tournament, but ultimately the round did not count due to the cancellation of the tournament due to the pandemic.


Rory McIlroy came out on top after a wild final round with eight players holding at least a share of the lead during the day.

McIlroy shared the 36-hole lead after opening 67-65 and through 54 holes was one stroke behind leader Jon Rahm and tied with Tommy Fleetwood. The Northern Irishman struggled early on Sunday, playing the first eight holes in 2-over before making his move with birdies on Nos. 9, 11 and 12.

That put him in front, as Fleetwood and Rahm were falling back. But Eddie Pepperell and Jhonattan Vegas were charging with 66s to finish at 14-under, and Jim Furyk moved ahead of them with a birdie at 18 to finish 15-under after a 67.

At that point, McIlroy was 14-under after a bogey at 14, but he birdied 15 with a spectacular approach from a fairway bunker and two-putted for a birdie on the par-5 16th. Pars on the last two holes gave McIlroy a 70 and his first PLAYERS title.

McIlroy led the field in Strokes Gained: Tee-to-Green (3.316 per round) and was second in Strokes Gained: Off-the-Tee (1.327).

McIlroy ranked first in Par 3 Scoring Average at 2.69.

McIlroy was 12-under on the back nine for the week, one off the tournament record.

“Very proud, very honored to be able to call myself a PLAYERS champion. It’s the toughest tournament to win. The deepest field in the world on one of the most iconic courses in the world.”

— Rory McIlroy


McIlroy Continues to struggles in performance

McIlroy Holds of Furyk To Clinch Players At Sawgrass

Location & Course Information

Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
THE PLAYERS Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass

Opened in 1980, THE PLAYERS Stadium Course was designed by Pete Dye with input from his wife, Alice, and former PGA TOUR Commissioner Deane Beman. The course has been renovated over the years, most recently in 2016. Yardage: 7,189; par 72.

SEE ALSO: Key Holes at TPC Sawgrass

Notable Course Features

The closing three-hole stretch provides one of the most dramatic stages in tournament golf. The 523-yard 16th offers an eagle opportunity but with danger lurking in water to the right of the green. The island green 137-yard 17th is a wedge or 9-iron shot with even more danger. The 462-yard par-4 18th, with water to the left, was the third toughest on the
course in 2019.   

2019 Champion

(No event in 2020)

Rory McIlroy, Northern Ireland

Quick Facts

Field: 144 players
Format: 72 holes stroke play
$15 million
Winner’s Share:
FedExCup Points:
600 to the winner 

Charity Benefit 
Proceeds from THE PLAYERS benefit Northeast Florida charities and have totaled more than $100 million since it began in 1974 and moved to Ponte Vedra Beach in 1977.  

Media Coverage
Golf Channel/NBC

Social Media 

Player Pos1 2 3 4 Total ScoreFedEx
Rory McIlroy1 67657070272/-16600$2,250,000
Jim Furyk271647167273/-15330$1,350,000
Eddie PepperellT372686866274/-14$725,000
Jhonattan VegasT372696766274/-14180$725,000
Tommy FleetwoodT565677073275/-13110$456,250
Dustin JohnsonT569686969275/-13110$456,250
Brandt SnedekerT569726569275/-13110$456,250

If you enjoyed our article on everything you need to know about the Players Championship in 2021, then


Tiger Woods ‘touched by show of support’

The Game Changer – A Revitalized Tournament Schedule in 2021