Essential Golf: A passion for the Game

All You Need to Know About the RBC Heritage, April 15th-18th

Webb Simpson

RBC Heritage
April 15-18, 2021

Location & Course Information
Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Harbour Town Golf Links

Harbour Town was an early masterpiece in the career of renowned architect Pete Dye, with help from consultant Jack Nicklaus in his first design project. It opened in 1969, in time for the first RBC Heritage. The course is known for its small, undulating greens and tree-lined fairways, putting a premium on accuracy.
Yardage: 7,099; par 71.

Notable Course Features
All four par 3s at Harbour Town feature water, and they are especially in play on the 200-yard fourth, front and left, and the 192-yard 14th, front and right. No. 14 was the second toughest hole on the course in 2020 and No. 4 the third toughest, accounting for 21 and 17 double bogeys or worse, respectively.

2020 Champion
Webb Simpson, U.S.

Quick Facts
Field: 132 players
Format: 72 holes stroke play
Purse: $7.1 million
Winner’s Share:

FedExCup Points:
500 to the winner

Charity Benefit
The Heritage Classic Foundation distributes revenue to a wide variety of charitable organizations in South Carolina, as well as for college scholarships.

Media Coverage
Golf Channel/CBS

Social Media

Webb Simpson birdied five of the last seven holes to win by one stroke in a tournament that finished just before darkness after a three-hour rain delay. Simpson, one of four players tied for the 54-hole lead, capped his birdie run with an 18-foot putt on the 17th as he closed with a 30 on the back nine for a 64.

Simpson ranked first in Strokes Gained: Putting (1.651 per round), making five putts of longer than 20 feet.

Simpson ranked second in Par Breakers with 25 birdies and an eagle.

Check this out

The tournament was shifted from its scheduled April dates to June after the coronavirus pandemic interrupted the PGA TOUR Season.

Webb Simpson set the tournament 72-hole scoring record with 22-under 262, previously held by Brian Gay (264 in 2009).

In perfect conditions for scoring, the top seven finishers all shot 66 or better in the final round.

Dylan Frittelli, who finished T8, shot 62 in the final round, one higher than the tournament 18-hole record of 61 shared by David Frost (1994) and Troy Merritt (2015).