Essential Golf: A passion for the Game

World Golf Hall of Fame & Tiger Woods Induction

Tiger Woods will most likely have the title Golf Hall of Fame inductee” on his impressive and historic pro golf resume by this time next year. The World Golf Hall of Fame announced that their age criteria for being an inductee will be reduced to 45 years old from the previous 50-year-old requirement. As a result, the pro golf legend is guaranteed to be enlisted among an elite group of pro golf inductees and he more than meets the requirements to be considered.

Tiger Woods guaranteed green light

Woods boasts a staggering 82 PGA TOUR victories under his belt throughout his career. Additionally, he has five victories in the European Tour, and even more victories on the Japan Golf Tour and Asia Tour. The requirement for being considered as an inductee is a minimum of 15 victories on the candidate’s home tour or two majors. Unsurprisingly, is safe to say that Woods is more than qualified to become an inductee in the World Golf Hall of Fame.

With the new age requirement change, Woods will be eligible to be in The World Golf Hall of Fame when he turns 45 years old in December next year.

“We believe these changes will enhance the Hall of Fame in many ways and bring greater attention to the most deserving players at a time in their careers when they are still competing at the highest level,”
 Greg McLaughlin, the CEO of the World Golf Foundation explained.

This won’t be the first time that the World Golf Hall of Fame has had an eligibility age under 50. Four years ago, the age requirement was actually 40. In response to the aforementioned change, we saw the inclusion of famous pro golf players, Phil Mickelson and Vijay Singh in the World Golf Hall of Fame who were only ages 42 and 43 at the time of their induction.

No more veterans category

The World Golf Hall of Fame will also see changes in the form of the elimination of the Veterans category and the name change from Lifetime Achievement to Contributor. The Veterans category was created two decades ago in order to reignite the legacy of pro golf players from past time periods who have made major contributions in the sport. The last player to be inducted in the World Golf Hall of Fame through this category was Willie Park, Jr who received this honor back in 2013.

World Golf Hall of Fame eligibility requirements for 2021

In order for men to be considered for induction into the Hall of Fame you must have a total of 15 or more victories throughout your career on the PGA TOUR, Japan Golf Tour, Sunshine Tour, Asian Tour or PGA of Australasia. If you don’t have 15 victories you could also have two victories in the Master’s, U.S. Open, Open Championship, PGA Championship and The Player’s Championship.

For women to be considered the player must have a total of 15 or more victories on the Ladies Professional Golf Association, Ladies European Tour, Japan LPGA, Korea LPGA or Australia Ladies Professional Golf, or at least two victories among the US Women’s Open, Women’s PGA Championship, Women’s British Open, ANA Inspiration, and the Evian Championship.

Consequently, Tiger Woods won’t be the only one who becomes eligible and will most likely be in the company of his fellow colleagues, such as Henrik Stenson, Sophie Gustafson, Padraig Harrington and Lee Westwood.